The Mayor of Saipan       

Mayor David M. Apatang

Professional background:

2015- Present  Mayor of Saipan 

1998-2010 Member of the Commonwealth Northern Marianas Legislature - Precinct 1

1996-1998 Member of the Saipan, Northern Islands Municipal Council of the Northern Marianas Commonwealth 

1990-1996 State Director - U.S. Selective Service System (GS-15/01 E)

1987-1996 Chief of Procurement and Supply; acting Director of Finance and Accounting (Department of Finance)

1967-1987 Soldier, U.S. Army (Retired)  

1 CMC §5101 creates Offices of the Mayors within the Commonwealth Government, composed of the duly-elected Mayors of Saipan, Rota, Tinian and Aguiguan, and the Northern Islands. Mayors are authorized to promulgate regulations on local matters as provided by law. The Mayor of Saipan is responsible for administering government programs, public services, and appropriations provided by law, for the island of Saipan. Furthermore, the Mayor coordinates various federal programs extended to the island.The core responsibilities of the Mayor of Saipan primarily involve services, programs, and other efforts that target the community.




Office of the Mayor of Saipan 

CTC Building, 2799 Teer Drive Suite A, Oleai

P.O. Box 501457 Saipan, MP 96950

Tel: (670) 234-6208

Fax: (670) 234-1190






FY 2020 Citizen Centric Report

FY 2021 Citizen Centric Report 

Office of the Mayor | P.O. Box 501457 Saipan, MP 96950 | CTC Building Oleai, Teer Drive  | Tel:(670) 234-6208 | Fax: (670) 234-1190